News


The Strong Files — Mar. 3, 2017 Edition

On Monday, March 6, the Senate Committee for Community Affairs meets to consider three bills that will hurt communities across the state. We urge you to contact members of the committee (direct contact info below) and urge them to vote NO on the following bills:
  • SB 534: This bill restricts local counties and cities from enacting and enforcing many local ordinances. If passed, this means that those working on local infrastructure projects in our communities can be denied a living and prevailing wage, hurting workers and local economic development in the process. Filed by Sen. Keith Perry (R-Gainesville).
  • SB 80: This bill will make it harder for people to access public records and effectively undermine open government in the Sunshine State. What’s more, it will erode the state constitution, which guarantees Floridians the right to access public records. Filed by Sen. Greg Steube (R-Sarasota).
  • SB 428: This bill is the Legislature’s annual attack on the Florida Retirement System and would limit new participants from the pension fund, putting the retirement security of nearly a million workers and retirees at risk. Filed by Sen. Jeff Brandes (R-St. Petersburg).



CONTACT THE SENATE COMMITTEE FOR COMMUNITY AFFAIRS: 

*Email template below

Sen. Tom Lee, Chair (R)
CALL: (850) 487-5020
EMAIL:* lee.tom@flsenate.gov

Sen. Jeff Clemens, Vice Chair (D)
CALL: (850) 487-5031
EMAIL:* clemens.jeff@flsenate.gov

Sen. Aaron Bean (R)
CALL: (850) 487-5004
EMAIL:* bean.aaron@flsenate.gov

Sen. Jeff Brandes (R)
CALL: (850) 487-5024
EMAIL:* brandes.jeff@flsenate.gov

Sen. Daphne Campbell (D)
CALL: (850) 487-5038
EMAIL:* campbell.daphne@flsenate.gov

Sen. Keith Perry (R)
CALL: (850) 487-5008
EMAIL:* perry.keith@flsenate.gov

Sen. Jose Javier Rodriguez (D)
CALL: (850) 487-5037
EMAIL: rodriguez.jose@flsenate.gov

Sen. David Simmons (R)
CALL: (850) 487-5009
EMAIL:* simmons.david@flsenate.gov

 


If you so choose, here is a template email to use when contacting members of the committee:  

Dear Senator,

As a member of the Community Affairs committee, your votes this legislative session will directly impact people like me. I write today to urge you to vote NO on SB 534, SB 80 & SB 428 on Monday, March 6.
These three bills need to be rejected because they hobble local governments from making their own decisions, reduce transparency and access to public records, and hurt millions of workers and retirees. It is critical that you vote against this set of bills that will damage not only my community, but the state as a whole.
Thank you for your consideration of my viewpoint on this matter. These are important issues, and it is my hope that you take my perspective into account as you make your decision.

Sincerely,

Your name
Address
Phone Number
Email Address